Membership Committee

About the Committee

The purpose of the Membership Committee is to seek opportunities to attract new members and to assist existing members in maintaining their status with IPELRA/NPELRA. We strive to accomplish this by working with other committees to highlight the benefits of membership, evaluating service offerings, and through the ongoing coordination of the Ambassador program. In 2015, IPELRA launched the Ambassador Outreach Program, designed to match new members with an existing member to act as a guide in answering general questions about the association, upcoming training opportunities, involvement in committees, and navigating the IPELRA and NPELRA websites. The Ambassadors are available to help in any way they can so you can experience everything that your IPELRA/NPELRA membership offers you as a public sector professional. When you become a member, an Ambassador is assigned to you and will contact you to introduce themselves. Feedback about the program is always welcome and should be directed to Chairperson Todd Walker.

Membership Committee members can often be spotted near the membership table at IPELRA training events throughout the year, handing out training calendars, brochures, or simply available in case you have a question.

Not an IPELRA member? View membership information.

Strategic Plan Goals

1) Identify Target Members - The committee will identify the types of organizations IPELRA is currently serving, which will assist in developing programs and resources that meet our member's needs.

2) Attract New Members - How can IPELRA expand membership to serve more Illinois public sector professionals with the current resources available?

3) Expand Ambassador Program - The committee will explore expanding the program to include mentoring and orientation for new members.

4) Membership Categories - The committee will evaluation current membership categories and dues structure to ensure continuity of services at an affordable rate.

Join the Committee

IPELRA relies on the volunteer spirit of its members to keep it moving forward. We would be happy to have you join us in providing services to the membership. Please contact Secretariat Debi Stensland or Chairperson Todd Walker for more information.


  • Todd Walker, Village of Algonquin, Chair
  • Ann Eriksson, Village of Winnetka, Vice Chair
  • Christa Ballowe, Village of Skokie
  • Toni Frazier, City of Elgin
  • Karen Gray, Village of Streamwood
  • Jenny Keigher, Town of Normal
  • Leslie Rienzie-Barry, Will County Circuit Clerk

IPELRA Ambassadors

  • Roxanne Bonner, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District
  • Toni Frazier, City of Elgin
  • Tameika Jones, City of Waukegan
  • Ted Kosowski, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District
  • Leslie Rienzie-Barry, Will County Circuit Clerk
  • Emily Taub, City of Highland Park
  • Todd Walker, Village of Algonquin
  • Cristina White, City of Warrenville