Calendar module icon


 View all calendars is the default. Choose Select a Calendar to view a specific calendar.
April 2, 2020
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Time Details:
Registration begins at 8:30 a.m.
Naperville, IL 60540
$75 members; $85 Organizational Associates of Members; $105 Non-Members
Diversity Graphic
Facebook Twitter Email

Diversity in the Workforce - CANCELLED

Thursday, April 2, 2020

This program has been postponed

This program is currently postponed

Presented By:
Dr. Adrienne Coleman
Candid Conversations Matter, Inc.

Unconscious Bias!   Do you recognize it?
Does your organization boast a healthy inclusive and diverse environment?

Join your IPELRA colleagues in a workshop that is rooted in Inclusive Excellence and approached through an Equity-Minded lens. Through an examination of individual, institutional, and environmental influences, a framework will be provided to create a diverse and inclusive environment that values all backgrounds, experiences and perspectives. There will be a specific focus on diverse talent acquisitions and Global Inclusion Benchmarks will be introduced to participants as a way for them to assess the climate at their respective organizations.

Cancellation Policy:  Deadline for cancellation is March 28, 2020.  Cancellations received after that date, and no shows, will be considered nonrefundable.

About the Presenter:
Dr. Adrienne Coleman, speaker, researcher, and DEI (diversity, equity and inclusion) expert, serves as the Director of Equity and Inclusion at the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy (IMSA). In this role, she is responsible for assessing potential barriers and developing strategies focused on recruiting and retaining a diverse community as well as implementing IMSA’s equity and excellence plan. Not only has she influenced practices at IMSA, she is an entrepreneur.  Her company, Candid Conversations Matter has assisted educational institutions, social-service organizations, law enforcement, government agencies and international groups in moving Diversity, Equity and Inclusion forward.
Previously, she worked at Rutgers University as a Program Development Specialist, Research Assistant and Adjunct Faculty with the Bloustein School of Public Health as well as at Illinois State University as a Health Educator. She served as an AmeriCorps member and was part of the United States delegation team that assisted Moldova (Eastern Europe) in addressing issues of human trafficking and inadequate health education. Resulting from her contributions to the diversity space and equity-focused research, Dr. Coleman was the recipient of the 2018 IMSA Presidential Leadership Award, the 2018 Top Ladies of Distinction Hidden Figures Award, the Leon Lederman Scholar’s Award for year’s 2013 – 2018, the 2016 NAACP Trailblazer in Education Award, and the IMSA 2012 E = MC2 award.
Her areas of interest include public health, social justice/DEI education and higher/gifted education. She has examined strategies to address inequities that exist in the STEM education to career pipeline as well as the motivation of Black and Latino students to engage in this STEM pipeline. This resulted in the development of the D-STEM Equity Model, a comprehensive approach to diversifying the STEM education to career pipeline, from a racial perspective. Her research has informed STEM programs throughout the nation including the NAACP, James R. Jordan Foundation and the American Statistical Association; and shared in the global space at the Athens Institute for Education and Research STEAM Symposium, the International Student Science Fair and the International Lactation Consultant Association Annual Conference. She hopes to contribute to the education and economic development of culturally, linguistically and economically diverse communities throughout the world by addressing inequities as well as continuing and sharing her diversity and inclusion focused research.
Dr. Adrienne Coleman possesses a Doctorate in Educational Leadership from Argosy University and a Master of Science in Health Education as well as a Master of Science in Higher Education, both from Illinois State University.